The Flaming Lips Share New Song "Flowers of Neptune 6"

Watch a video for their latest now
The Flaming Lips Share New Song 'Flowers of Neptune 6'
The Flaming Lips have returned with a new song. Titled "Flowers of Neptune 6," it features Kacey Musgraves on vocal harmonies. You can hear the band's latest below.

"Flowers of Neptune 6" also arrives alongside a video, in which frontman and physical distancing icon Wayne Coyne traipses through a meadow in his iconic plastic bubble, draped in an American flag.

As Coyne explained in a statement, "Flowers of Neptune 6" began as a series of melodies penned by Steven Drozd. 

"The first time he played it for me I was stunned by its emotional flow," Coyne recalled. "The 3 sections (well they seem like sections to me) seemed to hint at an older, mature mind reflecting back into a journey from younger innocence then starting to learn and understand and keeps going into the panic of becoming one with the world.

"The opening lyric 'Yellow sun is going down so slow...Doing acid and watching the light-bugs glow like tiny spaceships in a row... is the coolest thing I'll ever know'...and is a combination of blissful, innocent, psychedelic experiences that Steven and Kacey Musgraves (she sings harmony with me on the track) and myself all discussed."

Last year, the Flaming Lips released King's Mouth: Music and Songsand also treated their seminal album The Soft Bulletin to a vinyl reissue and a new live album

In March of this year, the Flaming Lips teamed up with Deap Vally to release a self-titled album as Deap Lips.