Spiritualized Announce "Definitive" Vinyl Reissues of First Four Albums

"The Spaceman Reissue Program" begins with 'Lazer Guided Melodies' in April
Spiritualized Announce 'Definitive' Vinyl Reissues of First Four Albums
Spiritualized have announced plans to bring their first four albums back to vinyl with "The Spaceman Reissue Program."

The reissue series will produce "definitive vinyl releases" of the group's first four albums, beginning with 1992 debut Lazer Guided Melodies arriving April 23 through Fat Possum. The campaign promises "to give those recordings the fullest spectrum audio and physical treatment they've deserved."

As for what "definitive" entails, the album will arrive as a 180-gram 2xLP set mastered from a half-speed lacquer cut from original sources by Alchemy Mastering.

Both LPs will be housed in a gatefold jacket adorned by reworked art by Mark Farrow. Lazer Guided Melodies is now available for pre-order in both standard black and limited-edition white vinyl editions.

Spiritualized leader Jason Pierce reflected on how Lazer Guided Melodies marked the the transition from Spacemen 3 to "the first realization of the Spiritualized sound" as follows: 

The last Spacemen 3 record was under-realized to me. When I listen back to that stuff it sounds like somebody finding their way. There was a lot of ideas but no way to put them into a space that would make them all work. So, there was a huge freedom forging over the last Spacemen 3 record and when Spiritualized started it was like, 'OK it's all yours. Go'… 

We recorded the tracks in the studio near my flat which was a place where they predominantly recorded advertising jingles and it's where we made all the Spacemen 3 records, but then the recordings were taken to Battery Studios in London, to explore a more professional way of making music… Once I approached that way of doing things I opened up a whole world and I was astounded that somebody could take those tracks and turn it into the record it became..."

Spiritualized's most recent album remains 2018's And Nothing Hurt.