Khruangbin Unveils New Album 'Mordechai'

Watch the video for the record's "Time (You and I)"
Khruangbin Unveils New Album 'Mordechai'
Houston funk band Khruangbin have announced plans for their fourth full-length album, Mordechai, due June 26 on Dead Oceans.

The album came together following the band's epic three-year tour schedule, which saw them performing across South America, Europe and Southeast Asia. This new project features a newly focused vocal element, with the band slowing down their process, likening their new approach to a kind of rebirth.

The band further elaborates on the album's conception in the following statement:

Khruangbin has always been multilingual, weaving far-flung musical languages like East Asian surf-rock, Persian funk and Jamaican dub into mellifluous harmony. As a first for the mostly instrumental band, Mordechai features vocals prominently on nearly every song. It's a shift that rewards the risk, reorienting Khruangbin's transportive sound toward a new sense of emotional directness, without losing the spirit of nomadic wandering that's always defined it. And it all started with coming home.

Mordechai follows the release of their 2019 record, Hasta El Cielo. Back in February, the group released a collaborative EP with fellow Texan Leon Bridges titled Texas Sun.

Today, Khruangbin have shared a new Felix Heyes & Josh R.R. King-directed video for the record's lead single "Time (You and I)" and sees comedian Stephen K. Amos and Lunga Anele-Skosana in a sandcastle building competition.

Watch the video for "Time (You and I)" below, where you'll also find Mordechai's tracklisting.


1. First Class
2. Time (You and I)
3. Connaissais de Face
4. Father Bird, Mother Bird
5. If There is No Question
6. Pelota
7. One to Remember
8. Dearest Alfred
9. So We Won't Forget
10. Shida

Pre-order Mordechai.